All Collections
Getting Started with Prospect CRM
Adding Users & Setting Permissions
Adding Users & Setting Permissions

How to add new CRM Users and manage User permissions.

Isobel Honour avatar
Written by Isobel Honour
Updated over a week ago

Not only can you set up new CRM Users in the CRM, but you can also set up individual permissions based on the User's responsibilities. This article will show you how to set up new Users and configure their CRM permissions as well as edit existing User permissions.

Prerequisites

  • You'll need Organisation Admin rights to create Users and amend User permissions

What's covered in this article

Step 1: Navigate to User Settings

In the navigation menu, click 'Settings' then 'Users' to set up new CRM Users and edit existing User's permissions.

Step 2: Adding Users

You'll be presented with a list of all your CRM Users. Click 'Invite User' to invite a new User.

Enter the new User's details, including their email address, first and last name, phone number, mobile phone number and job title. Once you've added this information, click 'Invite'.

The newly added User will now show in Manage Users list. They will automatically get an invite/activation email to the address specified.

Step 3: Updating User's Organisation Access & Permissions

To edit a User's permissions, click on 'Show Details' to the right of the User.

Update the User's Organisation Access & Permissions.

  • Licenced User: A paid User with access to CRM features. Once this has been selected for the user, it'll be added to your monthly invoice.

  • Unlicensed User: This User will appear in User drop-downs within the CRM and receive certain notifications, but cannot log into any Apps.

  • Disabled: Has no access to the CRM as they have left the company or no longer require access. You will not be invoiced for this User.

  • Organisation Admin: Tick this option if the User should be able to access User Management to add, update and remove Users.

Step 4: Updating User's Workspace Roles

Workspace roles determine what a User can do within the CRM.

  • CRM Admin: Can update settings and delete records within the CRM.

  • Export Lists: Can export lists of data (such as CRM Reports) from the CRM.

  • Bulk Update: Can perform bulk updates on data in your CRM e.g. delete records, move records, change records etc.

  • Delete: Can remove records within the CRM. (The Delete permission also applies to deleting from the Library).

  • Override Margin Approval: Can confirm a Quote even if it is below the margin threshold without approval (To learn more, click here).

  • Product Admin: Can configure product information and manage product groups. This is only relevant for customers with a Prospect eCommerce solution.

CMS User Permissions

If you have an eCommerce site with us then you'll have some extra User permissions relating to your site!

  • CMS Admin: Can create new sites, access site settings as well as publish changes.

  • CMS Publisher: Can publish live any changes made to the site.

  • CMS User: Can manage site content.

  • Product Admin: Can manage and configure Product Groups.

Step 5: Manage User Settings

Now that you've selected the User's Workspace roles, you can manage their User Settings. Click 'Manage User Settings' to get started. When navigating to the User Settings, make sure to save your changes so far.

Within the User's Permissions page, you can select their User Settings.

  • Customisation Dictionary: The Restricted Dictionary allows you to remove Cost Price and Margin from certain User's views within the CRM - learn more here.

  • User Group: User Groups can help to split and organise the Users of the system. This can be used for reporting purposes to see information only from certain groups of Users.

  • User Signature: Here you can set what default signature this User will have when sending emails via the CRM - learn more here.

  • List this User as an Account Manager: Ticking this box will set the User as an Account Manager, meaning they'll then be included in all Account Manager drop-downs within the CRM.

  • Territory Restriction: Restricting by territory allows Sales Managers to assign Salespeople to customers based on where they're located. It's also possible to allow other Users within that territory to see each other's customers - learn more here.

  • Account Manager Restriction: By setting Account Manager restrictions, Users can then only access records they're the Account Manager of - learn more here.

Removing a User

In order to remove a User, click show details to the right of the User.

From this menu, you can either mark them as Unlicensed (to remove their access but still have them show in dropdowns) or Disabled (removes them completely).

Once this is done you will be able to see that the user is greyed out and Show Details is changed to Grant Access, indicating that this user no longer has access to the CRM.


Learn more about managing user details in this guide.

Did this answer your question?