Setting Territory Restrictions

Learn how to set territory restrictions so that sales managers or sales teams can see their customers within Prospect CRM.

Isobel Honour avatar
Written by Isobel Honour
Updated over a week ago

Restricting by territory allows Sales Managers to assign Salespeople to customers based on where they're located. It's also possible to allow other users within that territory to see each other's customers.

If you'd like a particular CRM user to only have access to their assigned accounts, then click here to learn more about Account Manager Restrictions.

Prerequisites:

  • You'll need CRM Admin rights in order to follow the steps in this article

Step 1: Settings Centre

In order to access the territory restrictions settings, navigate to the Settings Centre and into the System Settings.

Step 2: Configure Territories

In the top right-hand corner, search for 'Territory' in the search bar and hit enter. From here, select 'Click to Configure' under the Configure Territories section.

This will take you to a page that shows all of your territory configurations (this will be blank if you don't have any set up yet).

Select the plus icon in the top right-hand corner to create a new configuration. You can then type in the territory name - for example, this could be "North Sales Team".

Once you've typed in the Territory name, select 'Create'.

Step 3: Assign Territory to User

Now that you've created the new Territory, you'll need to assign it to a user. Navigate into the User Management area, here.

Select 'Show Details' for the user whose territory you'd like to edit. This will open the Users permissions page. At the bottom there is the 'Account Manager and Territory' section which is where you can set the Users Territory.

If the User is an Area Manager and need to have an overview of all Companies but still have their own assigned Territory then it's best to set their Territory only. If, the User should only see and have access to Companies which are within their Territory then set the Territory Restriction. This is the tick box underneath where the Territory is set.

Please note: You can only set one Territory per User and so a User can only be restricted to one Territory. Many Users can be in one Territory.

Did this answer your question?