Skip to main content

Configure and set Urgent Notes

Enable Urgent Notes in the CRM to highlight important records for your attention.

Written by Alan Molina

Based on your configuration, when a note is posted as 'Important', it'll automatically appear as either a banner on the CRM record or as a pop-up when the record is opened.

Prerequisites

  • To configure Important Notes, you'll need CRM Admin rights.

  • Important Notes must be enabled before you can start setting them on records.


Configure Urgent Notes

Step 1: Navigate to the Settings Centre

To configure urgent notes, go to the navigation menu and select Settings > System settings, then search for 'Urgent Notes' in the search bar.

Step 2: Choose your Display Preference

Urgent Notes can be displayed on the record as either a banner or as a pop-up that's triggered when you open the record.

Under "How should urgent notes be displayed?", select either:

  • Banner

  • Pop-up

Select 'Disabled' to turn off the option to use Urgent Notes.

Banner example

Urgent Note - Pop-up example

Pop-up example

Step 3: Choose Levels of Hierarchy

Once you've selected your display option, you can set where the urgent note gets displayed.

Under the setting "Where should urgent notes display?", select either:

  • All Records: The Urgent Note displays on all records within the hierarchy, including Contacts, Opportunities, Problems etc.

  • Company Only: The Urgent Note is only displayed on the company record.

Step 4: Choose Expiry Date

Usually, an urgent note is only important for a period of time. To help manage the prioritisation of Urgent Notes, set a default expiry period.

Under "What should the default expiry period be?", select either:

  • No expiry

  • 1 Week

  • 1 Month

  • 3 Months

  • 1 Year.

You have the option to adjust the expiry period each time you set an Urgent Note in a record.

Step 5: Set Permissions

The final step in configuring your urgent notes is to determine whether all CRM users can set urgent notes or whether only CRM administrators can.

Under "Who can add/remove urgent notes?", select either:

  • All users

  • Admin Users


Set Urgent Notes

Step 1: Add a note and post as Important

To add an urgent note, click on 'Add your Reply here...' within the Activity feed.

Type your note, then click on the 'Post' drop-down menu and select 'Important'.

Step 2: Set Expiry Date

After selecting Important, you'll be asked to set an Expiry Date. If you've set a default expiry period in your settings, it will be prepopulated; if there is no default, set a date of your choosing. Make edits to the date as necessary, then select 'Post'.

Step 4: View your Urgent Note

Notes posted as 'Important' will appear either as a banner at the top of the CRM record, or in a pop-up when it's opened. The banner or pop-up will only appear on the record types you've selected in the Urgent Notes settings.

Step 5: Remove Urgent Notes

To remove an urgent note before its expiry, simply click on the urgent note icon for the required note. By clicking on this icon, the note will be converted from an urgent note to a standard note within the Activity feed.

Did this answer your question?